About the Department

Charles Merriam

Charles Merriam

From the very beginning, the Department of Political Science at the University of Chicago has been a pioneer in the development of social scientific understandings of government and politics. Harold Gosnell, Harold Lasswell, Grant McConnell, Duncan MacRae, Charles Merriam, Hans Morgenthau, Herbert Storing, and Quincy Wright all taught at Chicago.

Learn more »
Letter from the Chair »


Politics @ UChicago News

Professor Robert Pape defends decision for Robert Kagan to speak at Chicago Project on Security and Terrorism. Read it here

Doctoral student Jenn Jackson writes about making space for black women in academia. Read about it in The Chicago Maroon.

Congratulations to fourth-year Yusef Al-Jarani, who won a Gates Cambridge Scholarship for academic excellence and leadership!  

Assistant Professor Paul Staniland discusses variety among insurgency in The New York Times.

Political Science News

The APSA's Annual Meeting & Exhibition will take place August 28-31, 2014, in Washington, D.C. Click here for more info.


View all news »