Faculty

To access individual faculty member webpages, each of which includes a short biography, selected publications (some with links to the texts), and current office hours, please click on faculty names.

Michael Albertus

Ph.D., Stanford, 2011
Major Areas of Interest:

- Politics of Redistribution
- Democracy and dictatorship
- Clientelism
- Latin America

  E-Mail: albertus@uchicago.edu
Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~albertus
Phone: (773) 702-8056
Office: Pick 426  

John Brehm
Ph.D., Michigan, 1990

Major Areas of Interest:
- Compliance
- Political Psychology
- Public Opinion

 

E-Mail: jjbrehm@uchicago.edu
Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~jjbrehm/
Phone (773) 702-8075
Office: Pick 502


Cathy Cohen
Ph.D., Michigan, 1993
Chair

Major Areas of Interest:
- American Politics
- African American Politics
- Marginal Groups
- Social Movements

 

E-Mail: cjcohen@uchicago.edu
Website: http://www.blackyouthproject.com/project/cathy-j-cohen/
Phone: (773) 702-8051
Office: Pick 522B


Julie Cooper
Ph.D., California, Berkeley, 2003

Major Areas of Interest:
- History of Political Theory
- Early Modern Political Theory
- Jewish Political Thought
- Religion and Politics

 

E-Mail: jecooper@uchicago.edu 
Phone: (773) 702-8052
Office: Pick 521


Michael Dawson
Ph.D., Harvard, 1986

Major Areas of Interest:
- American Politics
- Politics of Race and Ethnicity
- Democratic Theory

 

E-Mail: mc-dawson@uchicago.edu
Website: http://www.michaeldawson.net/
Phone: (773) 702-8932
Office: Pick 419


Robert Gooding-Williams
Ph.D., Yale, 1982

Major Areas of Interest:
- Du Bois
- Critical Race Theory
- History of African-American Political Thought
- 19th Century German Philosophy (especially Nietzsche)
- Existentialism
- Aesthetics

  E-Mail: bgoodingwilliams@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8060
Office: Pick 414

Mark Hansen
Ph.D., Yale, 1987

Major Areas of Interest:
- Legislative Politics
- Interest Group Politics
- Rational Choice Models

 

E-Mail: jhansen@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-5476
Office: Pick 511


Bernard Harcourt

J.D., Harvard, 1989
Ph.D., Harvard, 2000
Major Areas of Interest:
- Social and Political Theory
- The Sociology of Punishment
- Criminal Law and Procedure
- Criminology

 

E-Mail: harcourt@uchicago.edu
Website: http://bernardharcourt.com/
Phone: (773) 702-8050; (773) 834-4068
Office: Pick 404


Gary Herrigel
Ph.D., MIT, 1990

Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative Politics, with an emphasis on Europe, the United States, and Japan
- Social Theory
- Economic Sociology
- Economic Geography

 

E-Mail: g-herrigel@uchicago.edu
Websitehttps://herrigel.uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8067
Office: Pick 423


William Howell
Ph.D., Stanford, 2000

Major Areas of Interest:
- American politics
- Political institutions
- Foundations of presidential power
- Domestic politics of foreign policymaking

 

E-Mail: whowell@uchicago.edu
Website: http://harrisschool.uchicago.edu/faculty/web-pages/william-howell.asp
Phone: (312) 550-3767
Office: 1155 East 60th Street, Suite 146


Iza Hussin
Ph.D., Washington, 2008

Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative Politics
- Religion, Politics and the State
- Middle East, Southeast Asia, South Asia
- Law and Society
- Islam and Colonialism

 

E-Mail: hussin@uchicago.edu
Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~hussin/
Phone:
(773) 702-4448
Office: Pick 513


Benjamin Lessing
Ph.D., California, Berkeley, 2012

Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative Politics
- Latin America
- Methodology

 

E-Mail: blessing@uchicago.edu
Website:
Phone:
(773) 702-3404
Office: Pick 528


Charles Lipson
Ph.D., Harvard, 1976

Major Areas of Interest:
- International Relations
- International Political Economy
- Modern International History

 

E-Mail: clipson@uchicago.edu
Website: http://www.charleslipson.com
Phone: (773) 702-8053
Office: Pick 418B


Patchen Markell
Ph.D., Harvard, 1999

Major Areas of Interest:
- Modern European Political Thought and Philosophy
- Twentieth-Century American Political Thought and Culture
- The Political Theory of Hannah Arendt
- Democratic Theory
- Critiques of Capitalism
- Classical Political Thought and its Modern Receptions

 

E-Mail: pmarkell@uchicago.edu
Website: http://patchenmarkell.wordpress.com/
Phone: (773) 702-8057
Office: Pick 412


Stanislav Markus
Ph.D., Harvard, 2009

Major Areas of Interest:
- Political Economy
- Rule of Law
- Post Communist Politics
- Corporate Governance
- Property Rights

 

E-Mail: smarkus@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-7301
Office: Pick 526


John P. McCormick
Ph.D., Chicago, 1995

Major Areas of Interest:
- Modern Political Thought
- Renaissance Italy
- 20th Century Germany
- Contemporary Democratic Theory
- European Politics

 

E-Mail: jpmccorm@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 834-4353
Office: Pick 422B


John Mearsheimer
Ph.D., Cornell, 1980

Major Areas of Interest:
- International Relations Theory
- International Security
- Israeli-Palestinian Conflict
- Nationalism
- Rise of China

 

E-Mail: j-mearsheimer@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8667
Office: Pick 416


Sankar Muthu
Ph.D., Harvard, 1998
Director of Graduate Studies

Major Areas of Interest:
- Political Theory
- History of Political Thought

 

E-Mail: muthu@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8059
Office: Pick 515


Eric Oliver
Ph.D., California, Berkeley, 1997

Major Areas of Interest:
- Urban Politics
- Political Psychology
- Public Opinion

 

E-Mail: eoliver@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-9784
Office: Pick 518A


John Padgett
Ph.D., Michigan, 1978

Major Areas of Interest:
- American Politics
- Organizational Theory
- Mathematical Models
- Co-Evolution of States and Markets

 

E-Mail: jpadgett@uchicago.edu
Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~jpadgett/
Phone: (773) 702-8077
Office: Pick 512


Robert Pape
Ph.D., Chicago, 1988

Major Areas of Interest:
- International Relations Theory
- National Security Affairs
- Causes of Suicide Terrorism
- Politics of Unipolarity

 

E-Mail: rpape@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 834-0770
Office: Pick 418A


Tianna Paschel
Ph.D., California, Berkeley, 2011

Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative Politics
- Race and Ethnicity
- Latin America
- Social Movements

 

E-Mail: tpaschel@uchicago.edu
Website: http://www.tiannapaschel.com/
Phone: (773) 702-0675
Office: Pick 507


Jennifer Pitts
Ph.D., Harvard, 2000

Major Areas of Interest:
- Political Theory
- History of Political Thought
- Empire and International Justice

 

E-Mail: jpitts@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8868
Office: Pick 518B


Gerald Rosenberg
J.D., Michigan, 1983
Ph.D., Yale, 1985

Major Areas of Interest:
- American Politics
- Public Law
- Civil Rights and Civil Liberties

 

E-Mail: g-rosenberg@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8061
Office: Pick 523


Bernard Silberman
Ph.D., Michigan, 1956

Major Areas of Interest:
- Japanese Politics
- Bureaucracies and Organizational Politics

 

E-Mail: appl@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8066
Office: Pick 516


Alberto Simpser
Ph.D., Stanford, 2005

Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative Politics
- Democratic Accountability
- Corruption

 

E-Mail: asimpser@uchicago.edu
Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~asimpser
Phone: (773) 702-0234
Office: Pick 517


Dan Slater
Ph.D., Emory, 2005

Major Areas of Interest:
- Authoritarianism and Democratization
- Contentious Politics and State-Building
- Comparative-Historical Methods
- Southeast Asian Politics

 

E-Mail: slater@uchicago.edu
Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~slater/
Phone: (773) 702-2941
Office: Pick 411


Paul Staniland
Ph.D., MIT, 2010

Major Areas of Interest:
- Civil War
- Ethnic Politics
- South Asia

 

E-Mail: paul@uchicago.edu
Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~paul
Phone: (773) 702-2370
Office: Pick 415


Nathan Tarcov
Ph.D., Harvard, 1975

Major Areas of Interest:
- History of Political Theory
- Education and Family in Political Theory
- Principles of U.S. Foreign Policy

 

E-Mail: n-tarcov@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8064
Office: Foster 316


Lisa Wedeen

Ph.D., California, Berkeley, 1995
Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative Politics
- Middle East
- Political Theory
- Feminist Theory

 

E-Mail: l-wedeen@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8065
Office: Pick 413


Dali Yang
Ph.D., Princeton, 1993

Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative Politics
- Chinese Politics
- Political Economy.

 

E-Mail: daliyang@uchicago.edu
Website: http://www.daliyang.org/
Phone: (773) 702-8054
Office: Pick 422A


Linda Zerilli
Ph.D., California, Berkeley, 1986

Other Appointments:
Center for the Study of Gender and Sexuality
Major Areas of Interest:
- Political Theory
- Feminist Theory
- Gender and Politics

 

E-Mail: lmgzerilli@uchicago.edu
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/lindamgzerilli/home
Phone: (773) 702-0522
Office: Pick 522A


Associate Faculty

Elisabeth Clemens
Ph.D., Chicago, 1990

Other Appointments:
- Department of Sociology.
Major Areas of Interest:
- Organizational Analysis
- Institutional Theory
- American Political Development
- Social Movements

 

E-Mail: clemens@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 834-4746
Office: Social Sciences 319


Tom Ginsburg

Ph.D., California, Berkeley, 1999
J.D., California, Berkeley, 1997
Other Appointments:
- Law School
Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative Public Law and Legal Institutions
- International Law
- East and Southeast Asia

   

Roger Myerson
Ph.D., Harvard, 1983

Other Appointments:
- Department of Economics.
Major Areas of Interest:
- Game Theory
- Economic Models of Voting and Politics

 

E-Mail: myerson@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 834-9071
Office: RO 205B


Martha Nussbaum
Ph.D., Harvard, 1975

Other Appointments:
- Law School;
- Department of Philosophy;
- Divinity School;
- Classical Language and Literature;
- Committee on South Asian Studies;
- Center for Comparative Constitutionalism.
Major Areas of Interest:
- Moral and Political Philosophy
- Global Justice
- Feminism
- Emotions

 

E-Mail: martha_nussbaum@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8829
Office: Laird Bell Law Quadrangle 520


Moishe Postone
Dr.Phil., J.W. Goethe-Universität, 1983

Other Appointments:
- Department of History
- Committee on Jewish Studies
Major Areas of Interest:
- Modern European Intellectual History
- Social Theory
- Critical Theories of Modernity
- 20th Century Germany
- Anti-Semitism
- Contemporary Global Transformations

 

E-Mail: mpostone@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8560
Office: HM E481


Postdoctoral Fellows and Lecturers

   
Inder Marwah

Ph.D., University of Toronto, 2011
Major Areas of Interest:
- History of Political Thought
- Modern Political Theory
- Kant's and Mill's Moral and Political Thought
- Imperialism and Political Theory
- Contemporary Political Theory
- Immigration and Multiculturalism
- Ethics and Politics

   

 
Alana Tiemessen

Ph.D., University of British Columbia, 2011
Major Areas of Interest:
- International and Transitional Justice
- International Criminal Court
- Human Rights
- Failed States
- International Security
- Constructivist IR Theory

   

Susanne Wengle

Ph.D., California, Berkeley, 2010
Major Areas of Interest:

- Comparative Politics    
- Political Economy    
- Post-Socialism

 

E-Mail: wengle@uchicago.edu
Website: home.uchicago.edu/wengle/home.html


Emeritus / Emerita Faculty of the Department

Leonard Binder

David Easton

Morton A. Kaplan

Norman Nie

Lloyd Rudolph
Ph.D., Harvard, 1956

Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative Politics
- Political Economy
- State formation
- South Asian Politics
- South Asian Cultural and Identity Politics
- Gandhian Thought and Practice

 

E-Mail: l-rudolph@uchicago.edu


Susanne Rudolph
Ph.D., Harvard, 1955

Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative Politics
- Political Economy and Political Sociology of South Asia
- State Formation
- Max Weber
- The Politics of Category and Culture

 

E-Mail: srudolph@uchicago.edu


William Sewell
Ph.D., California, Berkeley, 1971

Major Areas of Interest:
- Social Theory
- Comparative Politics
- Culture and Politics
- French History

 

E-Mail: wsewell@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-0900
Office: Pick 519


Duncan Snidal

Ph.D., Yale, 1981
Major Areas of Interest:
- International Relations Theory
- International Cooperation
- International Institutions including International Organizations and Law

 

 


Ronald Suny
Ph.D., Columbia, 1968

Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative Politics
- Russian and Soviet Politics and History
- Nationalities of the USSR and Post-Soviet World
- Nationalism, Ethnic Conflict
- Revolution
- Emotions and Politics

 

E-Mail: rgsuny@uchicago.edu


Visitors and Affiliates

 
Jared Holley
 

Harper-Schmidt Fellow
Collegiate Assistant Professor, SSD
Ph.D., Cambridge 2013
Major Areas of Interest:
-History of Political Tought
-Contemporary Political Theory
-Political Philosophy

E-Mail: jdholley@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773)-834-8705
Office: Gates-Blake 441


 John Kurt Jacobsen

Ph.D., Chicago, 1982
Major Areas of Interest:

-International relations
-Science, technology and politics
-Psychology and politics

 

E-Mail: jkjacobs@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 728-1299


Laura Montanaro
 

 

Harper-Schmidt Fellow
Collegiate Assistant Professor, SSD
Ph.D., UBC, 2010
Major Areas of Interest:
- Political and social theory
- Democratic theory
- Political representation

 

E-Mail: montanaro@uchicago.edu
Website: societyoffellows.uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-3084
Office: Gates-Blake 320


Geneviève Rousselière
 

 

Harper-Schmidt Fellow
Collegiate Assistant Professor, SSD
Ph.D., Princeton, 2011
Major Areas of Interest:
- Social and political theory
- History of political thought

 

E-Mail: rousseliere@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-6436
Office: Gates-Blake 432


Zhivka Valiavicharska
   

Harper-Schmidt Fellow
Collegiate Assistant Professor, SSD
Ph.D., Berkeley, 2011
Major Areas of Interest:
- Modern political and social theory
- Critical theory
- Intellectual histories of Marxist thought
- Gender and Sexuality
- Theories of the subject
- Socialism and postsocialism 

 

Email: zhivka@uchicago.edu
Website: societyoffellows.uchicago.edu
Phone:
(773) 834-0087


Nina Valiquette Moreau

Harper-Schmidt Fellow
Collegiate Assistant Professor, SSD
Ph. D., McGill 2013
Major Areas of Interest:
-History of political though
-Greek political thought

  Email: ninavmoreau@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773)-702-7993
Office: Gates-Blake 439