Faculty

To access individual faculty member webpages, each of which includes a short biography and selected publications (some with links to the texts), please click on faculty names. Current office hours for faculty members.

Michael Albertus

Ph.D., Stanford, 2011
Major Areas of Interest:

- Politics of redistribution
- Democracy and dictatorship
- Clientelism
- Latin America

  Email: albertus@uchicago.edu
Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~albertus
Phone: (773) 702-8056
Office: Pick 426  

John Brehm
Ph.D., Michigan, 1990

Major Areas of Interest:
- Compliance
- Political psychology
- Public opinion

 

Email: jjbrehm@uchicago.edu
Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~jjbrehm/
Phone (773) 702-8075
Office: Pick 502


Cathy Cohen
Ph.D., Michigan, 1993
Chair

Major Areas of Interest:
- American politics
- African American politics
- Marginal groups
- Social movements

 

Email: cjcohen@uchicago.edu
Website: http://www.blackyouthproject.com/project/cathy-j-cohen/
Phone: (773) 702-8051
Office: Pick 522B


Michael Dawson
Ph.D., Harvard, 1986

Major Areas of Interest:
- American politics
- Politics of race and ethnicity
- Democratic theory

 

Email: mc-dawson@uchicago.edu
Website: http://www.michaeldawson.net/
Phone: (773) 702-8932
Office: Pick 419


Mark Hansen
Ph.D., Yale, 1987

Major Areas of Interest:
- Legislative politics
- Interest group politics
- Rational choice models

 

Email: jhansen@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-5476
Office: Pick 511


Gary Herrigel
Ph.D., MIT, 1990

Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative Politics, with an emphasis on Europe, the United States, and Japan
- Social theory
- Economic sociology
- Economic geography

 

Email: g-herrigel@uchicago.edu
Website:https://herrigel.uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8067
Office: Pick 423


William Howell
Ph.D., Stanford, 2000

Major Areas of Interest:
- American politics
- Political institutions
- Foundations of presidential power
- Domestic politics of foreign policy making

 

Email: whowell@uchicago.edu
Website: http://harrisschool.uchicago.edu/faculty/web-pages/william-howell.asp
Phone: (312) 550-3767
Office: 1155 East 60th Street, Suite 146


Benjamin Lessing
Ph.D., California, Berkeley, 2012

Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative politics
- Latin America
- Methodology

 

Email: blessing@uchicago.edu
Website:
Phone:
(773) 702-3404
Office: Pick 528


Charles Lipson
Ph.D., Harvard, 1976

Major Areas of Interest:
- International relations
- International political economy
- Modern international history

 

Email: clipson@uchicago.edu
Website: http://www.charleslipson.com
Phone: (773) 702-8053
Office: Pick 418B


Patchen Markell
Ph.D., Harvard, 1999

Major Areas of Interest:
- Modern European political thought and philosophy
- 20-century American political thought and culture
- The political theory of Hannah Arendt
- Democratic theory
- Critiques of capitalism
- Classical political thought and its modern receptions

 

Email: pmarkell@uchicago.edu
Website: http://patchenmarkell.wordpress.com/
Phone: (773) 702-8057
Office: Pick 412


Stanislav Markus
Ph.D., Harvard, 2009

Major Areas of Interest:
- Political economy
- Rule of law
- Post communist politics
- Corporate governance
- Property rights

 

Email: smarkus@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-7301
Office: Pick 526


John P. McCormick
Ph.D., Chicago, 1995

Major Areas of Interest:
- Modern political thought
- Renaissance Italy
- 20th-century Germany
- Contemporary democratic theory
- European politics

 

Email: jpmccorm@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 834-4353
Office: Pick 422B


John Mearsheimer
Ph.D., Cornell, 1980

Major Areas of Interest:
- International relations theory
- International security
- Israeli-Palestinian conflict
- Nationalism
- Rise of China

 

Email: j-mearsheimer@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8667
Office: Pick 416


Sankar Muthu
Ph.D., Harvard, 1998
Director of Graduate Studies

Major Areas of Interest:
- Political theory
- History of political thought

 

Email: muthu@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8059
Office: Pick 515


Monika Nalepa

Ph.D., Columbia, 2005
Major Areas of Interest:
- Post-communist politics
- Comparative political institutions
- Positive political theory
- Transitional justice

  Email: mnalepa@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-0234
Office: Pick 517

Eric Oliver
Ph.D., California, Berkeley, 1997

Major Areas of Interest:
- Urban politics
- Political psychology
- Public opinion

 

Email: eoliver@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-9784
Office: Pick 518A


John Padgett
Ph.D., Michigan, 1978

Major Areas of Interest:
- American politics
- Organizational theory
- Mathematical models
- Co-evolution of states and markets

 

Email: jpadgett@uchicago.edu
Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~jpadgett/
Phone: (773) 702-8077
Office: Pick 512


Robert Pape
Ph.D., Chicago, 1988

Major Areas of Interest:
- International relations theory
- National security affairs
- Causes of suicide terrorism
- Politics of unipolarity

 

Email: rpape@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 834-0770
Office: Pick 418A


Tianna Paschel
Ph.D., California, Berkeley, 2011

Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative politics
- Race and ethnicity
- Latin America
- Social movements

 

Email: tpaschel@uchicago.edu
Website: http://www.tiannapaschel.com/
Phone: (773) 702-0675
Office: Pick 413


Jennifer Pitts
Ph.D., Harvard, 2000

Major Areas of Interest:
- Political theory
- History of political thought
- Empire and international justice

 

Email: jpitts@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8868
Office: Pick 518B


Gerald Rosenberg
J.D., Michigan, 1983
Ph.D., Yale, 1985

Major Areas of Interest:
- American politics
- Public law
- Civil rights and civil liberties

 

Email: g-rosenberg@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8061
Office: Pick 523


Bernard Silberman
Ph.D., Michigan, 1956

Major Areas of Interest:
- Japanese politics
- Bureaucracies and organizational politics

 

Email: appl@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8066
Office: Pick 516


Dan Slater
Ph.D., Emory, 2005

Major Areas of Interest:
- Authoritarianism and democratization
- Contentious politics and state-building
- Comparative-historical methods
- Southeast Asian politics

 

Email: slater@uchicago.edu
Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~slater/
Phone: (773) 702-2941
Office: Pick 411


Paul Staniland
Ph.D., MIT, 2010

Major Areas of Interest:
- Civil war
- Ethnic politics
- South Asia

 

Email: paul@uchicago.edu
Website: http://home.uchicago.edu/~paul
Phone: (773) 702-2370
Office: Pick 415


Nathan Tarcov
Ph.D., Harvard, 1975

Major Areas of Interest:
- History of political theory
- Education and family in political theory
- Principles of U.S. foreign policy

 

Email: n-tarcov@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8064
Office: Foster 316


Lisa Wedeen

Ph.D., California, Berkeley, 1995
Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative politics
- Middle East
- Political theory
- Feminist theory

 

Email: l-wedeen@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8065
Office: Pick 414


Dali Yang
Ph.D., Princeton, 1993

Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative politics
- Chinese politics
- Political economy.

 

Email: daliyang@uchicago.edu
Website: http://www.daliyang.org/
Phone: (773) 702-8054
Office: Pick 422A


Linda Zerilli
Ph.D., California, Berkeley, 1986

Other Appointments:
Center for the Study of Gender and Sexuality
Major Areas of Interest:
- Political theory
- Feminist theory
- Gender and politics

 

Email: lmgzerilli@uchicago.edu
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/lindamgzerilli/home
Phone: (773) 702-0522
Office: Pick 522A


Associate Faculty

Elisabeth Clemens
Ph.D., Chicago, 1990

Other Appointments:
- Department of Sociology.
Major Areas of Interest:
- Organizational analysis
- Institutional theory
- American political development
- Social movements

 

Email: clemens@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 834-4746
Office: Social Sciences 319


Tom Ginsburg

Ph.D., California, Berkeley, 1999
J.D., California, Berkeley, 1997
Other Appointments:
- Law School
Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative public law and legal institutions
- International law
- East and Southeast Asia

   

Roger Myerson
Ph.D., Harvard, 1983

Other Appointments:
- Department of Economics.
Major Areas of Interest:
- Game theory
- Economic models of voting and politics

 

Email: myerson@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 834-9071
Office: RO 205B


Martha Nussbaum
Ph.D., Harvard, 1975

Other Appointments:
- Law School;
- Department of Philosophy;
- Divinity School;
- Classical Language and Literature;
- Committee on South Asian Studies;
- Center for Comparative Constitutionalism.
Major Areas of Interest:
- Moral and political philosophy
- Global justice
- Feminism
- Emotions

 

Email: martha_nussbaum@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8829
Office: Laird Bell Law Quadrangle 520


Moishe Postone
Dr.Phil., J.W. Goethe-Universität, 1983

Other Appointments:
- Department of History
- Committee on Jewish Studies
Major Areas of Interest:
- Modern European intellectual history
- Social theory
- Critical theories of modernity
- 20th-century Germany
- Anti-semitism
- Contemporary global transformations

 

Email: mpostone@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8560
Office: HM E481


Postdoctoral Fellows and Lecturers

   
Amir Fairdosi

Ph.D., Chicago, 2014
Major Areas of Interest:
- American Politics
- Congress
- Political Psychology

 

Email: amirfairdosi@uchicago.edu
Website: www.fairdosi.com
Phone: (773) 702-8060
Office: Pick 507


 
Joshua Vandiver

Ph.D., Princeton, 2012
Major Areas of Interest:
- Political Theory
- History of Political Thought
- Plato and the Socratics
- Race, Gender, and Sexuality

 

Email: vandiver@uchicago.edu
Website:www.JoshVandiver.com
Phone:
(773) 702-8052
Office: Pick 521


 
Susanne Wengle

Ph.D., California, Berkeley, 2010
Major Areas of Interest:

- Comparative politics    
- Political economy    
- Post-socialism

 

Email: wengle@uchicago.edu
Website: home.uchicago.edu/wengle/home.html
Phone: (773) 702-4448
Office: Pick 513


Emeritus / Emerita Faculty of the Department

Leonard Binder

Morton A. Kaplan

Norman Nie

Lloyd Rudolph
Ph.D., Harvard, 1956

Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative politics
- Political economy
- State formation
- South Asian Politics
- South Asian cultural and identity politics
- Gandhian thought and practice

 

Email: l-rudolph@uchicago.edu


Susanne Rudolph
Ph.D., Harvard, 1955

Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative politics
- Political economy and political sociology of South Asia
- State formation
- Max Weber
- Politics of category and culture

 

Email: srudolph@uchicago.edu


William Sewell
Ph.D., California, Berkeley, 1971

Major Areas of Interest:
- Social theory
- Comparative politics
- Culture and politics
- French history

 

Email: wsewell@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-0900
Office: Pick 519


Duncan Snidal

Ph.D., Yale, 1981
Major Areas of Interest:
- International relations theory
- International cooperation
- International institutions including international organizations and law

 

 


Ronald Suny
Ph.D., Columbia, 1968

Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative politics
- Russian and Soviet Politics and history
- Nationalities of the USSR and post-Soviet world
- Nationalism, ethnic conflict
- Revolution
- Emotions and politics

 

Email: rgsuny@uchicago.edu


Visitors and Affiliates

 
Daragh Grant
     

Harper-Schmidt Fellow
Collegiate Assistant Professor, SSD
Ph.D., Chicago, 2012
Major Areas of Interest:
- Comparative politics
- Legal studies
- Social and political Theory

 

 

Email: djgrant@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-8554
Office: Gates-Blake 440

Jared Holley
 

 

Harper-Schmidt Fellow
Collegiate Assistant Professor, SSD
Ph.D., Cambridge 2013
Major Areas of Interest:
- History of political thought
- Contemporary political theory
- Political philosophy

 

Email: jdholley@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 834-8705
Office: Gates-Blake 441


John Kurt Jacobsen
   

Ph.D., Chicago, 1982
Major Areas of Interest:
- International relations
- Science, technology and politics
- Psychology and politics

 

Email: jkjacobs@uchicago.edu
Website: http://political-science.uchicago.edu/people/faculty/jacobsen.shtml
Phone: (773) 728-1299


 Geneviève Rousselière
   

Harper-Schmidt Fellow
Collegiate Assistant Professor, SSD
Ph.D., Princeton, 2011
Major Areas of Interest:
- Social and political theory
- History of political thought

  Email: rousseliere@uchicago.edu
Website: www.rousseliere.com
Office: Gates-Blake 432

 

Nina Valiquette Moreau
   

Harper-Schmidt Fellow
Collegiate Assistant Professor, SSD
Ph.D., McGill 2013
Major Areas of Interest:
- History of political thought
- Greek political thought

  Email: ninavmoreau@uchicago.edu
Phone: (773) 702-7993
Office: Gates-Blake 439

James Wilson
   

Harper-Schmidt Fellow
Collegiate Assistant Professor, SSD
Ph.D., Princeton, 2011; J.D., Yale, 2007
Major Areas of Interest:
- Democratic theory
- History of democratic thought
- Global justice
- Constitutional and election law

  Email: jimw@uchicago.edu
Website: http://societyoffellows.uchicago.edu/directory/james-wilson
Phone: (773) 702-8564
Office: Gates-Blake 308